The Forbidden Kingdom

Jackie Chan and Jet Li in a movie together. You know I’m there. And The Forbidden Kingdom didn’t disappoint. It is the story of kung-fu obsessed teen (Michael Angarano, who I will always think of as Will Stronghold), who is drawn into a quest in an alternate, magical and ancient China. There he is befriended (which might be too strong a word) by a drunken Immortal (Jackie Chan), a stoic monk (Jet Li), and a knife throwing orphan girl (Yifei Liu). They set off to return a powerful staff to the cursed Monkey King (also Li, smiling more in one scene than I’ve ever seen him in all of his movies combined), the only person who is powerful enough to defeat the evil Jade Warlord (Collin Chou).

There are some wonderful action sequences here (obviously) and it’s great to see Chan’s and Li’s different fighting styles up against each other (I’m especially fond of Chan’s use of handy props in his fight choreography). The filmography is beautiful (I so want to visit China) and the acting if pretty darn good. The plot is perhaps the weakest point, but if you just turn off your brain (not too much, or you won’t understand what is going on) and just sit back, I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy the ride as much as I did.

China Glaze Adventure Red-y

This is China Glaze’s Adventure Red-y from last Fall’s On Safari Collection. It is a deep red/burgundy cream (trust me, it’s a lot darker and vampier in real life than it is in this picture) that applied beautifully. I almost got away with 1 coat, but needed 2 to even out some bald patches. A very flattering color, if a little boring. ~K

