Maverick

Here’s another of my favorites. Maverick tells the story of Bret Maverick (Mel Gibson) a cowardly card sharp who is in a race against time to win enough money to enter the poker game of a lifetime. On the way, he meets lovely con artist Annabelle (Jodie Foster, who’s never looked lovelier) and aging lawman Coop (James Garner, of course…they couldn’t make a Maverick movie without him), along with a murderous Mexican (Alfred Molina) and scads of other colorful characters.

This comedy makes the Old West seem like a fun and wacky place, a place I wouldn’t mind visiting (except for maybe the corsets). And the actors are having a blast there as well. The banter between Mel, Jodie and James is beyond fantastic and I don’t even mind Randy Newman’s score (it sounds like all of his other scores, of course, but I love this movie too much to care). Keep your eyes out, there are a ton of cameos in this one and several nods to other movies.

Pure Ice Royal Flush

This picture is two coats of Pure Ice’s Royal Flush, one of the dozen purple/gold shimmers I own. This one probably need 3 coats, but it was still nice (and nicely priced too). I would say the quality was comparable to the more expensive brands, so if money is an issue, Royal Flush is your best bet (did you see what I did there?). ~K

