Enchanted

Enchanted was a very pleasant surprise for me. I knew I would like it, but I wasn’t expecting to love it (which I do). It starts out as a fairly traditional Disney princess movie, hand-drawn and musical. The lovely Giselle (Amy Adams) dreams of her true love, while the dashing Prince Edward (James Marsden) hunts trolls with his faithful servant Nathaniel (Timothy Spall). When these two crazy kids meet, it’s an instant love duet. Unfortunately, Edward’s stepmother, Queen Narissa (Susan Sarandon) is a nasty sorceress who wants to keep the kingdom all for herself and will prevent Edward from marrying at all costs. Disguised as an old crone, she sends Giselle to a place where there are no happily ever afters…New York City. At first, Giselle is hopelessly lost in our harsh, modern world, but luckily she is taken in by Robert (Patrick Dempsey), a soon-to-be engaged divorce attorney and single father. Giselle turns his world upside down and teaches him the meaning of true love.

There’s plenty of inside jokes going on here to keep a Disney fanatic like myself entertained, like cameos by several previous princesses (like Ariel, Belle and Pocahontas…which begs the question, where’s Jasmine?). The musical numbers are all first-rate, although why they cast Idina Menzel (as Robert’s girlfriend, Nancy) and then didn’t give her a song to sing is beyond me. This is such a fun little movie and the cast is all fantastic with special mention going out to Amy Adams and James Marsden, both of whom commit to their characters fully and seem to be having a downright blast doing so (I think Amy was robbed of an Oscar nomination that year). If you haven’t seen Enchanted, stop reading this blog immediately and go watch it. Now!

BB Couture Kiss of True Love

This is BB Couture’s Kiss of a True Love, a shimmery coral pink which isn’t really my style but looks amazing with my pale skin. This picture is two coats and applied wonderfully, like all of the BB Couture polished I’ve tried so far. ~K

