The Mummy Returns

Sometimes, a movie sequel can improve on the original (see Toy Story 2), but other times, it can be a little bit of a letdown.  I really, really enjoy The Mummy (okay, not so much the gruesome mummy and bug bits, but pretty much everything else) and I’ve seen it a bajillion times.  I can probably count the number of times I have seen The Mummy Returns on one hand.  This one just didn’t do it for me.  Are there funny bits? Yes.  Is there still a ton of action and craziness? Yes.  So why don’t I like it?

Well, there’s not much of a love story.  Yes, Rick and Evelyn are all sickly sweet and romantical, but I really miss the whole watching two people fall in love aspect.  Also, I don’t believe Egyptians believe in reincarnation, so that whole plot line is a bit wacky for me as well.  And did it have to be the same mummy?  Don’t get me wrong, Arnold Vosloo is terrific as Imhotep, but it would really tick me off to have to save the world from a mummy I had already killed. Props to the O’Connells for not being like me and actually saving the world for the second time.

So, the plot goes like this: Evelyn is now a respected archeologist/Egyptologist and she and Rick have an eight or nine year old son.  He’s got his mother’s brains and clumsiness, but he also has his father’s guts. Anyway, a reincarnated Anck-Su-Namun decides to raise Imhotep again so he can defeat the Scorpion King.  Alex, the little boy, gets caught up in this plot when he is kidnapped because he put on a bracelet that shows the way to the Oasis where Imhotep will have to kill the Scorpion King, which will grant him power over the king’s army.  Rick, Evelyn, and Jonathon first have to save Alex, and then the world.  Again.

I have to mention that I do love that they were able to reunite the entire cast from the first movie. That’s one of my big beefs with the third mummy movie.

Pretty Serious Mummy Mush 3

Pretty Serious has some really fun Halloween polishes, including their Monster Mash Collection.  Mummy Mush is a part of this collection, and the connection to the movie is fairly obvious.  This was a nice polish, but not really my thing.  This picture is two coats and is impressive coverage, considering it is a glitter polish.  I’m not crazy about gold, nor am I particularly fond of polishes that are pretty much just glitter.  They can be beastly to get off, and I tend to have bits of glitter all over the edges of my nails for days after. ~E

