The Mummy

I’ve been feeling cold lately, so I thought it was time to watch something warm and as you probably know…I tend to take things to extremes.

The Mummy is the story of Evelyn Carnahan (Rachel Weisz), an accident prone librarian and amateur Egyptologist who dreams of being respected in the archeological community. When her good-for-nothing brother Jonathan (John Hannah), steals an artifact that contains a map to the lost treasure city of the pharaohs, they team up with adventurer Rick O’Connell (Brendan Fraser, probably never better than here), the original owner of the map, and race against a group of Americans to find the treasure first. Unfortunately, what they find, or rather who they find, is an ancient mummy–a high priest named Imhotep (Arnold Vosloo) who was cursed to bring disaster should he ever be resurrected. And of course, Evelyn manages to do just that.

I had dreams of being an Egyptologist when I was younger, so I have always had a soft spot for this movie (even if the historical accuracy is a little dodgy at times). Something I’m not a fan of however, is all of the gore and burrowing scarabs. I have a thing about bugs and their yuckiness. On the other hand, the acting is first rate and the chemistry between Brendan and Rachel is pretty awesome. The whole thing is just a bit of fun and should be taken as such, but what fun it is!

Sally Hansen Scarab

This is Sally Hansen’s Scarab, a lovely blue green duochrome that has an almost metallic finish and definitely lives up to its name. I used two coats here (plus topcoat) and found the formula to be quite good. There are several lookalike polishes out there, so I’ll have to do a comparison some time. ~K

