The Searchers

So, I don’t know why, but K has decided she needs to culture me up, which apparently includes making me watch a lot of old, albeit famous, movies.  Now before you go thinking I’m an uncultured yokel, I already do watch a lot of old movies, my tastes just lean more towards funny instead of the dramatic. For every Citizen Kane, I have watched an Arsenic and Old Lace.  Still, this is not cultured enough; hence yesterday’s post about Vertigo (which I am apparently going to have to watch again before I actually enjoy it) and today’s post for The Searchers.

If you go into the back room at my grandmother’s house, you may be startled by the tall man just standing there—believe me, it’s happened more than once—but there’s no need to worry because it is just her life-size cut out of the Duke.  Yes, my grandmother is a huge John Wayne fan, and her cut out is far from her only memorabilia.  Anytime any of her children or grandchildren find anything John Wayne related, we must instantly buy it for her, as it will be the perfect gift.

Given this heritage, you would think I would have seen every John Wayne movie out there, but that is not the case.  I think, including The Searchers, I have seen three (the other two are McLintock and The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance, just in case you were wondering) John Wayne movies. I think that if my grandma knew that she would disown me!

So, The Searchers.  I rather enjoyed this movie.  As K pointed out, it’s a great lesson in subtext.  John Wayne plays Ethan Edwards, a former Confederate soldier returning to his brother’s house in Texas after a long absence. Shortly after his arrival, a neighbors cows are stolen and the men in the small community go out to track down the culprits, but Ethan insists on going in his brother’s place.  Turns out the thievery was really a ploy by the local Comanches to get the menfolk away.  They kill all of Ethan’s family except for his two nieces.  Ethan and his brother’s adopted son spend the next five years tracking this particular group of Comanches to try to find his nieces. There’s heartache and humor along the way, and of course the Duke being the Duke.  I think he says, “That’ll be the day” about 50 times during the course of the movie.

China Glaze Wagon Trail

Since this is one of the few westerns I have ever seen, China Glaze’s Wagon Trail seemed appropriate.  I like that it is not a super bright and cheery color, as this seems to match the more somber tone of the movie.  This polish is a black base with multi-colored shimmer.  There’s some red, some green, and gold, among others.  It took three coats to be completely opaque, but I thought this was a nice formula.  Much like The Searchers, I quite liked Wagon Trail. ~E

