Sense and Sensibility

Emma Thompson is the coolest. She’s won an acting Oscar and a writing Oscar (a combo Ben Affleck and Matt Damon have been dreaming about for years), and she strikes me as someone who you could hold an intelligent conversation with about pretty much any topic. One of my favorite Emma Thompson movies is her adaptation of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. Not one of Miss Austen’s easiest books to read, but Emma managed to bring the story to life with wit and humor. In it, she plays Elinor Dashwood, a young woman whose family is thrown into instant poverty with the death of her father. Fortunately, Elinor is sensible and manages to economize, while hiding her love for unavailable Edward Ferrars (Hugh Grant, at his adorably bumbling best) and dealing with her overly passionate sister, Marianne (Kate Winslet).

This is a very sumptuous adaptation, with gorgeous locations, costumes and beautiful music courtesy of Patrick Doyle. All of the actors are fabulous (I like to play “Who Played Who in the Harry Potter Movies” while I watch), with special mention going out to Alan Rickman as the brooding, lovestruck Colonel Brandon. I have never found him more attractive than I do in Sense and Sensibility. Another interesting fact about this movie is that both Thompson sisters (Emma and her sister Sophie) found their husbands during filming. Emma later married the actor who played John Willoughby (one of Marianne’s love interests) and Sophie married the actor who played Robert Ferrars (Edward’s younger brother). That’s kismet for you!

Orly Ingenue

This is Orly’s Ingenue, a pretty plum pink polish with tons of gold shimmer. I put on 2 coats, but I probably could have done another one for complete opacity. I know that these shimmery polishes are a dime a dozen, but I can’t resist them. They are so beautiful on my fingers that I just want to sit an stare at them all day. ~K

 

