Ladyhawke

There are some who think Ladyhawke is a silly movie with a totally anachronistic score (I’m not naming names…*cough*…my sister). Maybe their right…but I love it anyway. It is the story of a pickpocket (Matthew Broderick) who is swept up in the epic love story of a man (Rutger Hauer) cursed to be a wolf at night and his lady (Michelle Pfeiffer) who is a hawk by day. This is a particularly cruel curse in that they are always together, but can never truly be…you know, together. They need this particular pickpocket to help them get revenge on the bishop who cursed them.

Sure the music is a little dated, but I still think it’s beautiful. I have the soundtrack on my ipod and listen to it a lot. The cinematography is breathtaking and the story is magical. They just don’t make movies like this anymore.

Matthew is adorable (like a medieval Ferris Bueller). Michelle is completely gorgeous, while Rutger is super intense and strangely attractive. Definitely a good, watch, so check it out sometime.

Orly Fowl Play

For this movie, I chose Orly’s Fowl Play from their Birds of a Feather Collection. The above photo was 3 coats plus a topcoat. This polish is kind of sheer, but I think it was worth it. Look at all of the things it’s got going on: deep purple jelly base, tiny silver glitter, larger iridescent glitter and color-shifting flakes. It’s pretty much gorgeous, right? Definitely a winner, Orly! ~K

