The Dark Knight

I remember waiting in line to see The Dark Knight at a midnight showing, fervently hoping that it would be as awesome as the trailers made it seem. And I was not disappointed in the slightest! The Dark Knight picks up where Batman Begins left off (which left us hanging on that tantalizing hint of the Joker’s coming). Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) is busy cleaning up the streets of Gotham and has the criminal element running for cover. Enter the Joker (Heath Ledger), a psychopath bedecked in clown makeup and the yin to Batman’s yang. Also trying to stomp out organized crime is newly elected DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhardt), the city’s “White Knight” and Rachael Dawes’ (Maggie Gyllenhaal…it’s a good thing they didn’t cast her brother Jake as Batman, right?) new squeeze.

My complaint from the first movie, that it focuses too much on Bruce Wayne and not enough on Batman, swings to the other extreme here, as I find that not enough attention is spent on the man underneath the mask. All the veterans from the first movie are just as excellent this go around, while newbies Aaron, Maggie and Heath bring their A-games as well. Heath in particular is so good that I can’t help gleefully cackling along with him, even as he commits atrocity after atrocity. One of my very favorite moments in film (not just this film, but all films) is when the Joker has just broken out of jail and is riding through the streets in a stolen cop car–his head hanging out the window, his hair blowing in the wind and his eyes closed in a moment of pure ecstasy. It’s a powerful shot that both disturbs and electrifies me. This is movie making at its very best.

Daring Digits Why So Serious

This is a not so great picture of Daring Digits’ Why So Serious? (I promise I’ll get a better picture when I find some sunlight), a deep purple polish with different sized green glitter. I used 2 coats here with a topcoat, although I maybe should have gone with 3. This applied quite nicely (for a glitter polish) and perfectly captures the spirit of the Joker. Fun!  ~K

