Batman Begins

When I heard they were rebooting the Batman franchise, I was skeptical. I mean, I’m no fan of Joel Schumacher’s atrocities, but Tim Burton’s first two Batman movies were quite good. And it seems like Hollywood is rebooting everything these days. But I should have known better. Christopher Nolan’s vision is dark and brooding and as my brother would say…EPIC!

The first installment of the trilogy, Batman Begins, is exactly what it sounds like. It’s an origin story for the Dark Knight, and as such can drag a little bit in certain places. Yes, Bruce Wayne is a tortured soul…yes, he blames himself for his parents’ death, but can we get to the costumed vigilantism already? Christian Bale is quite good as Bruce, although his Batman voice can be a little grating (but so much fun to mock). Katie Holmes plays Rachel Dawes, a childhood friend of Bruce and his love interest. Katie is cute as a button, but I just don’t think she has the acting chops to inhabit Nolan’s Gotham. Gary Oldman is perfection as Lieutenant Gordon, as is Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox. And don’t even get me started on Michael Caine’s Alfred. He lights up every scene he’s in. Liam Neeson plays Henri Ducard, a sort of mentor figure for Bruce, and Neeson excels at playing mentor figures. As one of the big bads, Cillian Murphy plays Dr. Jonathan Crane, aka The Scarecrow, a character that scared me back when I used to watch Batman cartoons. Cillian is way too adorable to fully scare me, but that crystal blue stare can be a little disconcerting.

The production design is as dark and foreboding as the subject matter, as is the music. All in all, a good and exciting film, even if it is the weakest of the trilogy.

BB Couture Dark Knight

This is BB Couture’s Dark Knight, a black polish with beautiful gold shimmer. This picture is 1 coat!!! (plus topcoat). The polish applied beautifully, which makes me excited to try more BB Couture polishes. ~K

