Extraordinary Measures

Until Extraordinary Measures, I knew nothing about Pompe disease.  I still don’t know much, but I knew I wanted to see this for one big reason: Brendan Fraser.  Harrison Ford and Keri Russell were nice additions as well, but really, I love me some Brendan, even if most of his movies are a little childish.

Anyway, he is terrific as a father who does everything he can to find a cure to Pompe disease, which affects two of his children.  In his quest, he meets up with Dr. Stonehill (Harrison Ford), a sort of eccentric doctor who is pioneering research on a drug to treat Pompe.  Even though they butt heads, a lot, they both throw themselves entirely into working on the drug.

I knew going into this I would probably get choked-up, and I did a few times.  The kids in this are really the main emotional tug, but Brendan and Keri (who plays his wife), have their moments as well.  Yes, it’s a little cloying at times, but overall, not a bad way to spend two hours.

Color Club Rule Breaker

This picture is two coats of Color Club’s Rule Breaker.  This polish is a lovely green polish with almost teal shimmer.  It really is beautiful.  The formula was good, after the first coat.  The second coat smoothed everything out nicely. ~E

