Moonrise Kingdom

I figured I would like this movie. Something about Wes Anderson’s quirky worldview appeals to me, and Moonrise Kingdom had quirks to spare. But I was surprised at how much I liked this movie (and a little disappointed that I didn’t see it before we made our best of 2012 list).

It’s the story of a small New England island, right before a huge storm, where the search is on for two preteen runaways. Sam and Suzy are in love and want to escape from their lives (something I think we all wish we could do at one time or another), much to the chagrin of most of the adults around them.

The locations are breathtakingly beautiful, like in a fairy tale. And the score encourages that feeling as well. The acting is great all around, with special mention going out to Edward Norton as a devoted Scout leader and the two young leads who, although maybe not technically proficient, add a maturity to the proceedings that the adults seem to lack. In fact, I would say that the children in this movie act far more like adults than the adults themselves. And maybe that’s why I liked this movie so much, because when I was a kid, I felt so very grown up and now that I’m a grownup, I’m just a big kid. I don’t know…maybe everyone feels that way?

Sally Hansen Moonstone

I was surprised by how much I liked this polish, too. Sally Hansen’s Moonstone is a white shimmer that shifts to pink and green in certain lights. I’m not really a big fan of white, frosty polishes, but this was just too gorgeous not to love. This would make for a lovely wedding manicure–traditional, but just a little bit edgy. The above photo is 3 coats and a topcoat. ~K

