The Grinch

This is another one of those movies that everyone hates and I love. My brother and I can pretty much quote all of The Grinch between the two of us. If you watched the cartoon version of Dr. Seuss’ timeless classic when you were a kid, you already know the plot, but in this Ron Howard directed version, the backstory of that grumpy Grinch is explored while Cindy Lou searches for her own Christmas spirit.

Jim Carrey is perfect as the Grinch. He’s virtually unrecognizable under all of that green makeup and fur, but that manic energy he brings to all of his roles is instantly familiar. I think Ron Howard pretty much gave him free rein while the cameras rolled. There’s a lot of randomness, and if you know me, you know I love randomness. The rest of the cast is pretty much playing straight man to Mr. Carrey.

Taylor Momsen is adorable as little Cindy Lou (too bad she’s grown up to be so scary) and Bill Irwin and Molly Shannon are both excellent as Cindy Lou’s sorta oblivious parents.

The truly neat thing about this film is the production design. There are tons of things to look at in every shot, and after hundreds of views, I’m still not sure I’ve seen all of the neat little touches. And James Horner’s score switches between majestic and silly with complete ease. There’s a reason he’s one of the greatest film score composers out there.

Color Club Ho-Ho-Holly

I had to do a green polish for this one, obviously. This is Color Club’s Ho-Ho-Holly from this year’s winter collection. It’s a lovely deep green and gold foil. This picture is 2 coats and a topcoat. This was a pretty great collection, although I’ve seen several pretty close copycats to this very shade from other cosmetic companies. ~K

