The Muppet Christmas Carol

If you ask my family, they’ll say I’m a bit of a humbug. I don’t like Christmas music (most of it, anyways), I don’t like Christmas decorations (you have to put them away almost as soon as you get them out) and I detest almost all Christmas movies…a notable exception being The Muppet Christmas Carol. I know, Charles Dickens’ classic tale has been told so many times, we can all retell the plot by heart, but by adding Kermit, Miss Piggy and Gonzo, the same dry material becomes fresh again.

I have to give a lot of credit to Michael Caine. It’s kind of shocking to see a “serious” actor cavorting with Muppets, but he carries it off with his usual aplomb. His Scrooge is particularly sympathetic, even when he’s being a nasty miser. As for the Muppet performers, Gonzo and Rizzo are particularly prominent as the story’s narrators, and both are excellent. Their banter is some of the funniest parts of the movie. Kermit and Piggy as Bob and Mrs. Cratchitt have some funny and surprisingly affecting moments too.

Another highlight of this Christmas Carol is the musical numbers. There are some excellent holiday tunes here, and many of them are quite catchy. My Christmas playlist consists mainly of this movie’s soundtrack (I told you, I’m not big on the Christmas music, right?).

Sinful Colors Winter Wonder

My polish today is Winter Wonder from Sinful Colors winter collection. This was a very popular shade this season, and I can see why. It’s a beautiful grayish blue with tons of gold shimmer. This picture is 3 coats and a topcoat. Application was lovely. I highly recommend it. ~K

