Undercover Blues

I love Undercover Blues. Sure, it’s one you’ve probably never heard of, but I assure you, it’s a forgotten gem from the early 90’s and one that is constantly quoted amongst my family.

Kathleen Turner and Dennis Quaid (he’s never been better than here) are Jane and Jeff Blue, an affectionate couple, with a young daughter, on a family vacation in New Orleans. What’s interesting about them is their super espionage skills–and their ability to attract all kinds of trouble. They get involved in stopping a dangerous weapons deal, while evading murderous thugs and meddling detectives.

The plot is ever so slightly dated, but that doesn’t diminish the fun in the least. Stanley Tucci is a scream as Muerte (as in “Death”), a bad-tempered mugger who has it out for Jeff. I also enjoy Fiona Shaw as the main villain, an Eastern European terrorist with a love of cosmetics…and Jeff Blue.

The banter is incredibly witty and the acting is all top notch. If you haven’t seen it, rent Undercover Blues immediately.

Milani Blue for My Baby

My polish today is Milani’s Blue for My Baby, a light blue metallic. This picture is two coats, and the polish applied really well, considering how frosty it is. I’m not a huge fan of metallics, but this one is quite beautiful (and blue is my favorite color), so I’ll give this one a pass. ~K

