Ramona and Beezus

I remember my mom reading us the Ramona books when we were little girls. Being a fairly quiet and not very mischievous child, Ramona was equally hilarious and distressing to me, mostly because I couldn’t even imagine getting myself in even half as many zany situations as she managed to get herself into. Because of these memories, particularly in regards to my mom, I have always had a very soft spot in my heart for Beverly Cleary’s Ramona.

I was never a huge Selena Gomez fan, which might have been part of the reason I didn’t see Ramona and Beezus in the theaters. Still, it was always one of those movies that I kept on the“see one day” list in the back of my head, and I eventually checked it out from the local library. After watching it one time, not only did I not mind Selena so much, but I knew this was a movie that I had to have and I am proud to say that it is now a part of my DVD collection.

Joey King is perfectly cast as the imaginative, mischievous Ramona and Selena Gomez does a great job playing the straight-woman Beezus, Ramona’s perfect older sister who everyone loves. When Ramona’s dad (the wonderful John Corbett) is laid off, mom (the stunning Bridget Moynaha)  has to go back to work. Luckily, Aunt Bea (Ginnifer Goodwin, in one of her better roles) is there to pitch in with the babysitting. Unfortunately, her old high school beau, Josh Duhamel (as handsome as ever), has temporarily moved in next door and has plans to try to “reel her back in.”

If you have fond memories of the books as I do, then you should see this movie. If you delight in watching kids running around causing as much havoc as a tornado and are relieved that you don’t have to clean up after them, then you won’t want to miss this. And if you enjoy movies with a lot of laughs and heart, then you really must see Ramona and Beezus.

When Ramona decides she wants to audition to be a princess in the Royal Peanut Butter commercial, Beezus helps her get ready. She adds some glitter to Ramona’s shirt and says, “Every princess needs a little sparkle.” Today, I am wearing Color Club’s Gift of Sparkle. It’s sort of a matte purple base with tons of multi-colored and holographic glitter.

Color Club Gift of Sparkle

Because I love glitter and I love sparkle, it is safe to say that I am quite enjoying this polish. The formula for this polish was a bit thick and gloopy, but it seemed to even out as it dried, which it did pretty quickly. This picture is just two coats with a top coat to add extra shine. Although it’s probably not appropriate for a day at the office, it is a fun polish that will help you get noticed, and not for doing anything crazy like Ramona. ~E

