Calamity Jane

Calamity Jane is one of my favorite childhood memories. We used to have sleepovers at our Aunt Marta’s and stay up late watching old musicals and eating Doritos (something it seems we never got at home). To this day, I feel a Dorito craving whenever I watch this movie.

This is a very colorful, historically inacurate (but delightfully so) tale about Calamity Jane (Doris Day) and her (mis)adventures. Calamity is a rough and tumble gal with a bit of a bragging problem, so when she promises the men of Deadwood that she will bring back a famous actress to perform in their town theater, she goes to great lengths to follow through. Unfortunately, she returns with the actress’ maid, Katie (Allyn McLerie), who immediately wins the hearts of the Deadwood men, in particular Wild Bill Hickok (Howard Keel) and the lieutenant that Calamity has her eye on.

The songs are great, the acting is first-rate and Doris is positively adorable (if you ask me, she’s never been better than here.) Howard Keel is one of my leading man crushes, and when he sings my heart goes all wibbly-wobbly. These two leads have great chemistry (although, come to think of it, both Doris and Howard have great chemistry with their costars in pretty much every movie).

China Glaze Lasso My Heart

This picture is China Glaze’s Lasso My Heart (from the Rodeo Diva Collection), a plummy mauve shimmer. I am a sucker for this kind of color, so of course I love it. The application was lovely and this was opaque in 2 coats. So far, I have been thoroughly impressed with this collection. ~K

