The boy and his pet story is probably almost as old as the boy meets girl story.  Old Yeller, Flipper, you know the type.  At its heart, How to Train Your Dragon is one of those stories, only it’s totally awesome.  Not that those others aren’t awesome, but they lack dragons, and the humor of this movie. Maybe that’s just my prejudiced opinion.

Hiccup is just a twig of a boy, which makes life hard for him, since he’s a Viking and in his own words, “I see a dragon and I have to just… kill it.”  Plus, his dad is the dragon-slaying chieftain—that’s got to be rough for a guy who could get blown over by a strong gust of wind.  What he lacks in brawn, he makes up for in brains.  He invents a device, and takes out an elusive Nightfury dragon.  Since no one believes him, he heads out to the woods and finds the dragon.  He goes to kill the it, but finds he can’t do it.  Instead, he cuts the dragon free of the ropes and, after a few meetings, a friendship develops.  Together, they save the village from both the dragons and the Vikings, changing both their worlds.

As in most cases, the voice cast is fantastic.  Jay Baruchel is adorable as Hiccup, and Gerard Butler (yep, that’s right, two Gerard movies in a row for me) is gruff and aloof, but still loveable as his dad.  All of the adults portraying teenagers are pretty funny, as is Craig Ferguson, who plays Gobber the blacksmith and the dragon trainer.

The animation is amazing in this movie, particularly the flying scenes.  Add in the triumphant, soaring score and it’s just magical.

China Glaze’s Flying Dragon is a purple matte polish, with some bright pink and blue glitter.  I’m not crazy about matte polishes, but they do dry quickly, which I like.  This polish wasn’t too bad.  I thought it would be crazy bright, but it really wasn’t.  I think that I would have liked it better if it was shiny.

This picture is three coats, and it needed it.  There were definitely bald patches after just two.  To make it shinier, I recommend a top coat.

How to Train Your Dragon is one of my favorite animated movies; it is definitely my favorite from Dreamworks.  Flying Dragon, however, is not my favorite China Glaze polish. ~E

