When I was younger, we rented Noises Off all the time. We thought it was the funniest thing ever. And it pretty much is. I guess we just didn’t notice the two F-words. Anyway, this is the story of a group of crazy people putting on a play (and by crazy people I mean theater people…don’t worry, I come from a theatrical family, so I say that with love). And I don’t know if I can give you more of a synopsis than that. Utter chaos ensues, but utter hilarity ensues as well. In each successive performance of the play (which is pretty darn funny on its own), the actors start losing control and backstage drama takes center stage.

The entire cast is great and each has their moment to shine. A particular favorite is Denholm Elliott as Selsdon. He practically steals the movie, and with a cast this talented, that’s saying something. Also great are John Ritter, Mark Linn-Baker and Carol Burnett.

Something a little less funny…as I was watching, I realized that half of the men in the cast are dead, most of them way too soon. Although that makes me sad, I am glad that they were able to make such an entertaining movie (and so many more) before they went. And the following is a personal message going out to Michael Caine:  Dear Michael, Don’t. Ever. Die. Please?

Unless you’ve seen Noises Off as many times as I have, you might not understand the connection between the movie and the name of this nail polish. (It’s one of Carol Burnett’s lines.) Take the Plunge is an extremely sheer purple-gray shimmer. The above picture is three coats, and you can hardly see it. Definitely needs a petticoat, unless you’re looking for something reeeaaalllly subtle. ~K

